h1

Ducati back on the road for 2007!

April 22, 2007

It has been a busy weekend.  I’ve replaced the water pump on Janice’s BMW, and now I’ve discovered it needs a power steering pump.  This wasn’t the worst automotive job I’ve had to do, but it was the worst water pump R&R.  I could do it fairly quickly now I think.  I also put the kids’ KTM 50 back together and it ran great for an hour this afternoon until the clutch disengaged from the crankshaft again.  I have a new bottom end with a fully intact crank so I guess I’ll have to put that bottom end in the little 50.  It ran great while it ran though so I think Isaac and Winston are going to have a really nice little bike to ride.

I got my Ducati all back together and I just returned from my first shake-down cruise of 2007.   It seems to run fine. I started it on the stand in the garage last week and it started up almost instantly even after sitting all winter.  It did so again this afternoon and it idled perfectly once it warmed up a little.  I am amazed at how well the Mikuni carburetors work on this engine.  I installed a 40t rear sprocket which seems like a good compromise. I installed a 43t rear sprocket last summer when I replaced the chain and it came with a 39t sprocket when I bought the bike.  It seems much less busy on the highway and still moves out pretty well compared to the 43t.  I also installed a set of gold ’99 Ducati SS wheels which look good on the bike but the paint on these wheels is pretty ugly so I’ll be painting these as soon as possible. Probably when these tires go away, I’ll paint the wheels during the tire swap and I’ll probably paint them black.  Here are a couple photos for you to see what it looks like now.

m900-sssp-001.jpg  m900-sssp-007.jpg

The plan now is to rebuild the original engine that came with the bike using the 944cc cylinders and pistons that I bought last fall.  I’ll install that sometime during a rainy weekend this summer and paint the frame red at the same time.   The fenders can come off in about 10 minutes so sometime in the next few weeks, I’ll yank those off, sand them down and spray some new clear laquer on them to show off that gorgeous carbon fibre.  I’m trying to make this bike look nice and run well with the smallest expenditure possible because I am really trying to save for the new 1098!

Later – GDS

Leave a Reply

