h1

New Stuff on Duc for 2008

June 5, 2008

Hi,

It is hard to believe I haven’t written anything here since spring 2007!  The Duc was supposed to get a new paint job this winter as well as a new 944cc kit in the engine.  However, I didn’t get heat in my shop until late in the spring when it was almost no longer needed.  I’ll be all set for next year though!

I did change the tires to a new set of Michelin Pilot Power 2CTs which are dual compound tires.  While the wheels were bare, I had them powder painted at Superior Powderpainting in Fenton, MI.  They did a great job!  I also added a little red pinstripe to the wheels to set them off a little which looks nice.  I installed new bearings and new cush drives as well.

Then I installed a set of Dynacoil ignition coils and Nology wires with grounding straps.  I removed the carbs and cleaned them out.  They were pretty dirty inside after two years of running without any maintenance.  The engine was surging under part throttle cruise yet it ran well at WOT and idle.  Now it runs perfectly at any speed and all throttle settings.

I also installed a Yoyodyne clutch slave, Fren Tubo brake and clutch lines, a cool aluminum open clutch cover and a new stock clutch.  The only aftermarket part in the clutch is the pressure plate and springs which are aluminum and stainless.  I figured if I was going to show the world the clutch, I better at least make it look nice.  Lastly, I popped the steering head bearings and cleaned and repacked them.  Steering is much easier and more precise now.  Thanks to Alex Ortner for making much of this happen.  Here are a few photos of the bike as it sits now in June 2008…

\'96 Ducati 900 SS/SP \'96 Ducati 900 SS/SP

\'96 Ducati 900 SS/SP \'96 Ducati 900 SS/SP

Hopefully this will run well for the season and maybe I can do the big bore kit and new paint next year, if I don’t get a 1098 first! 🙂

-GDS

One comment

  1. Hey Graydon!
    Blast from the past. Moved to Rochester NY, working for Harris RF communications…got into the L-twin world myself- great minds think alike! I ended up with a ’97 Suzuki TL1000S, and all the usual mods that go with older bikes. Very tempted by Duc’s too! I’m on my 3rd urS4, current one is a ’94 Europa blue. Going to install all the roll bars from my ’92 parts car. Hope your new amp venture is going well! My best to Janice & the boys! Cheers, Alex



Leave a Reply

